learning a new craft

I found myself learning something new tonight.  And it was FUN.

At first I stumbled with clumsy fingers and an out of tune brain.  I felt like a fish in roller skates.  Progress was slow but leapt to a dazzling pace after encouragement and guidance from our fabulous teacher.

I’m working with a bunch of great peeps at the mo and I joined in on their monthly craft night, where the talented Genevieve teaches all who are interested how to crochet.  Yes you heard right, crochet.  In a pub.  Balls of yarn, hooks and budding crafty enthusiasm nestled in amongst pints, hot chips and great banter.

I managed to master single stitch.  Okay master could be seen as a slight embellishment, but Im proud of my wee length of string.  I shall take on a new stitch next month.

In the blink of an eye I went from not knowing how to do something.  To knowing.  I went from ‘this is really hard’ to ‘this is fun and easy’.  And in addition to the fun and connection, I got a timely reminder about the incredible capacity we each hold to try and learn things we don’t think we can do.  Okay so it was crochet, not open heart surgery…..but me thinks the principle holds true for pretty much anything.

About maree

I'm creative and curious and love writing about the fine and messy art of creating an authentic joy laden life.

4 comments

  1. Welcome to the world of crochet! Just have fun with it.

  2. wow, much admiration! a new string to add to your many-stringed bow!

Leave a Reply

