Falling back in love

Have you ever fallen out and then back in love with something?  With somebody?

I thought it auspicious on this Valentines day to share my refall back into love……back into love with my hometown – the North Shore.  I haven’t lived in New Zealand for ten whole years, I’ve visited a fair few times but not lived on the old home soil.  It’s undoubtedly one of my favourite places in the world and it definitely feels like home, though I can’t say I have found it inspiring……and there hasn’t been any pull to return to live.

Last night Ma and went for a spot of dinner and along the way we came across all these gems in our backyard.

Love a Duck Restaurant - Northcote

Green tea at Love a Duck

Delicious Prawn and Pork Dumplings

I hadn’t been to Northcote shops in an age.  It was great to see it so full of life and crammed with every Asian cuisine you can imagine.  The food at Love a Duck was exceptional and true Hong Kong style.  A treat I wasn’t expecting to come across.

View from Stanley Point, Devonport

View of Navy Ships from Stanley Point, Devonport

Driving around my old stomping ground of Devonport I was reminded of why I love it so.  It’s a beautiful part of the world, great little beaches, views across to the City and it’s crammed fill of old Villa’s and wide roads.  It is my favourite suburb in the North Shore and Auckland.  And I could live there again, no problems.

Glorious little second hand store in Cheltenham, Devonport

And I couldn’t believe my eyes while driving through Birkenhead (another old stomping ground)……the new Library was finally up and running (it took an absolute age to be designed and built).  What a lovely architectural find……a beautiful wee space.  I wasn’t expecting something so progressive from the council initiative – surprised was I.

Birkehead Library - Interior Shot

Birkenhead Library - Resting spot

Birkenhead Library - Sculpture

It’s official, I have fallen back into love with my hometown.  It’s got layers and colour and diversity and stories and beautiful beaches and unique landscape and a myriad of cultures.  And on this trip I was inspired.

On this trip I realised I hadn’t been looking previously, so I hadn’t seen all the colour, joy and beauty of this place that was right under my nose.  I saw new hidden gems that I didn’t realise existed……because I hadn’t been looking.

And there it is, I’ve fallen back in love because I lifted my head up and looked with open eyes and I was pleasantly surprised.

About maree

I'm creative and curious and love writing about the fine and messy art of creating an authentic joy laden life.

6 comments

  1. Jason

    Hiya. Jason here. Just wanted to say how much I am loving the way you express yourself in words. Magic!

  2. Jo

    HI Maree

    I am enjoying your blog and especially reading about NZ. I am off in March to meet my future father in law (I hope).

    Hope we catch up soon.

    Jo xx

  3. Natalia

    Wonderful Maree!!! Sounds like a really good trip! Natalia xox

Leave a Reply

