dear body, thank you (and sorry)

Im forty next year and I’m really looking forward to it (seriously). I’ve always loved birthdays and I love ageing as I’m becoming my true self as I get older.  In my pre forty state I have been reflecting on where Im at in life and how I’m travelling.  I’ve also calculated (which could be seen as a tad morbid) how many years I’ve got left on the clock.  Which if your interested had me exiting at about ninety (give or take) giving me another 30 years of unencumbered living and 20 years where the creaks of age would slow me down a little.  And its had me visioning how I want to spend what could be another fifty years of living, but I’ll get to that in another post.  Now this 30 years of unencumbered existence is predicated on the small fact that I ‘wake up’ and start giving my body and mind consistent love from here on in. And features hope that any legacy of bad living up until this point is washed away (I’m not saying its fully scientific, but hey).

So outside of the washing away of previous sins (which is in the hands of the gods) I’m left with consistent loving to self = self care.  Oh the good old ‘self care’ how I have valiantly fought you and lost countless times, how I have resisted your charms to my detriment.  A quick snap shot (and even quicker if you viewed up close the stretch marks that resemble a resting Accordion) will show that I have had an ‘on again off again’ connection with my body.

When I’ve been ‘on’ I feel incredible, full of energy and ready to take on the world and be amazing.  I’ve learnt (from some incredible healers) that food is a key fuel that lights your fire.  Crap in = small, barely burning fire.  Great food in = roaring fire (and may I say a really positive frame of mind).  My roaring fire = lots of protein, green anything, brown rice and exercise and no sugar, processed foods and flour.  So back to the purpose of the post, I would like to thank my body;

Dear body thank you, you have religiously turned up and performed every day.  When I have ignored your signs that you are not well you have still turned up and forgiven me and done your job.  Actually you are the most forgiving ‘anything’ that I know.  You tolerate when I slip every time.  Your so forgiving and tolerant that at the first sign of me looking after you, you reward me with speedy regenerating. Your elastic stretch means I can transform my wellness within a jiffy.  And yes, I too freaked out in June when I couldn’t last on the dance floor for more than a couple of tunes without going into a cardiac arrest (I remember how I used to dance for hours).  So thank you for diligently doing your job even though I haven’t returned the love at all times.  And as a way of thanks and to ensure I give this new phase of my life some ‘good legs’ heres what I’m going to do:

  • pursue with zeal my passions (I know doing what I love makes you sing)
  • quit smoking (its been twelve days and counting).  And yes, I too don’t know why I went back to it after five years off.
  • eat well
  • exercise
  • create
  • meditate (I’m really going to try)
  • laugh, love and forgive
I’ve drawn a wee picture of my happy body full of creativity and wellness.  I see it like a garden.  What would you say to your body if you were having a chat?
About maree

I'm creative and curious and love writing about the fine and messy art of creating an authentic joy laden life.

Leave a Reply

